No tv

As I’ve me filmed before in the blog, I (we) haven’t owned a tv for some years now (not sure how many, but I’m guessing it’s some three years or so), and it’s without a doubt one of the better choices that we’ve ever made. In my case I’d come to the point that I felt like as if all I get did was watch tv (did a test online to see hos much t. I watched, and it was way too much to say the least) and realising that if I’m ever going to stop watching it, I’d have to go cold turkey (yes, the damned tv was a drug). After a trip in London, where there was no access to tv my husband thought it would be a good idea as well and we jumped at the opening that meant we both agreed (a feat by itself let me tell you!), and chucked the tv into the storage room (in case we decided that we would miss it too much).

The most immediate thing we noticed was that we all of a sudden had the flexibility of rearranging our furniture however we wanted, instead of around that damned tv. I think we’ve rearranged the furniture about once a year (at least) after that, making it a bit of a joke among our friends that they’re half expecting the apartment to look a little different each time they come. I loved the freedom of it!

There were of course some other effects as well. As I mentioned, watching tv had become a drug to me. More so in fact, than smoking. It was my pacifier, and it couldn’t be more obvious than when I realised that I was getting irritative and moody because I had no idea how to relax without it. All of a sudden I needed to use my brain (reading), or actually make an effort (finding a hobbie) and I didn’t know how to deal. Pretty bad. I got so restless I signed myself up for everything I thought might be interesting. Politics, non-profit organisation, personal projects, you name it (at the same time as I was working part time and studying for my bachelor degree by the way). Good thing? I was finally doing something with my life. Bad thing? My manias is what at times kept me going. It was a good thing that I didn’t have a 9-5 job at that time.

Whatever the stages I was going through was however, I never regretted getting rid of that damned tv.

I have to admit though, I never properly went cold turkey though, as I continued watching series online, and watching them at a level that probably wasn’t healthy either. Note the past tense though, because for some reason or other, that pacifier is seemingly getting fazed out as well, and I’m glad, because that was pretty pacifying as well.

For those of you that are a little curious about the “totally crazy” life of life without a tv (a not very uncommon reaction to us not having a tv by the way), read the article on “8 changes I experienced after giving up tv”. I don’t agree with no 7, but considering how similar the rest of the experiences are to my own, I think that maybe it’s time for society to rethink how we spend our days.

Leave a Reply

